Capital: Kraków
Area: 15 108 km²
Population: 3 364 176
Administrative division: 22 districts, 182 communes, 1904 smallest administrative units in Poland, called Sołectwo, 61 towns and 2630 villages.

Picturesque and varied landscapes, cultural and historical richness are the main assets of Malopolska. From Malopolska Upland to the Western Carpathians, Malopolska hosts 6 national parks and 11 landscape parks, which, together with an impressive number of monuments, make it one of the most attractive tourist regions in Poland. Its 34 universities with the most known primeval Jagiellonian University, educate more than 200.000 students annually. Favourable conditions for business development make Malopolska a dynamic and increasingly prosperous region.

A large number of enterprises, educational and research centres make Malopolska well-off in terms of education, business and culture. 

The potential of Malopolska is based on life science, sustainable energy, information and communication technologies and chemistry, which were considered to be smart specialization of the region. European Union funding will be allocated to the priority sectors of the economy, which will make it even more dynamic and competitive.

The funds will be used mainly to strengthen the competitiveness of enterprises, to introduce new technologies into industrial environment, to stimulate innovation, but also for projects fostering growth of information society, environment protection, cultural heritage preservation and revitalization, as well as education and health.

The Marshal's Office of Malopolska is responsible for the managing those funds.