Capital: Opole
Area: 9 411 km²
Population: 1 037 088
Administrative division: 12 districts, 71 communes (including 3 urban, 32 urban-rural and 36 rural communes), 1011 villages, 1025 smallest administrative units in Poland, called Sołectwo.

Culturally diverse and open to the world. This is the shortest description of this region. Opolskie is also the richest Polish region, when castles, palaces and manor houses are concerned. The capital of the Province - Opole is famous for the National Song Festival organized for more than half a century now. In addition to urban setting, three natural landscape parks and thirty-six nature reserves are located in the Opolskie region.

Greatest strengths of Opolskie Region come from chemical technologies, construction, wood, mechanical, metal and energy industry. Cyclically organized construction fairs allow those branches to connect, creating new opportunities for cooperation and following European trends, for instance in design and technology.

It is also necessary to highlight the expanding farm and food industry, as well as healthy food produced in the area. The Opolskie Region Development Strategy until 2020 defines those branches as region’s smart specializations. An enhanced development of them is leading to creation of new workplaces and increasing the quality of education, which on a longer term will improve the quality of life of all citizens.

The force that will bring together and combine innovative enterprises and technologies is the currently built Science-Technology Park. This park will improve the conditions for conducting research and stimulate development activities.